• August Goals:

    100 miles on pedometer

    To Date: 24 miles


    Gym x8, Walk x4

    To Date: Gym - 2


    Drop 5 lbs

    To Date: no change

  • Shop Amazon

30 Days of Plank

Good morning everyone! There’s some snow/ice/sleet/rain stuff on the way this afternoon but for now I’m blocking it from my mind and hoping it ends up being nothing to worry about. After all, I’ve got better things to think about like

A new challenge!

I adore anything specific and time-boxed. I don’t like never-ending diets where I fizzle out because it’s taking too long. Since one of the problem areas (OK, the main area) I have to work on for fitting into my wedding dress is my waist, I thought a challenge that focused on that would be benefitial. Now before you all throw up your hands about how you can’t spot-correct problem areas, I know that. BUT – if this helps build some muscle and gives me better core strength, well that’s going to help with all the Spring and Summer exercising I do.

Enter the 30 Day Plank Challenge

I pulled up a schedule from 30dayfitnesschallenges.com and they have several 30 day workouts. I’ve already printed out a few others for when (if) I make it through plank.

30-day-plank-challenge-chart

Yesterday was Day 1 and when I mentioned this to Ben, he decided to do it as well. I timed him first, talking him through it but when it was my turn, he just sat there and said nothing. Wh-what!? I told him I need encouragement or at least a countdown, so I have something to concentrate on. The 20 seconds wasn’t too terrible but I’m already scared of the 300 seconds on day 30. :)

So, something fun and we’ll see how it goes. Something else fun? Today is just 6 months from the wedding. Whoa how times flies. I’m a bit stressed about it but I need to hang in a few more weeks and when school is done I can get focused on that. I need to order the invitations sometime this month and try to find a wedding officiate. There’s always something even when you’re keeping it simple!

Ben has grilling fever and with the short burst of warmer temps, we’ve been back grilling again. I’ve missed it! Last night Ben grilled some parmesan crusted chicken and I diced and cooked broccoli to go along with it. Mmm there’s just something about grilled food that’s soooo good!

002

I have class tonight and I still have some homework to complete for it – so I’ll be racing when I get home from work tonight. Oh how I wish they’d stop assigning us more busy work so we could just buckle down and work on the large projects due at the end of the semester. I think they are trying to be cruel. ;)

Alrighty, time to scoot to work. Have a brilliant day everyone!!

 

2 Responses

  1. A 5 minute plank? Lordy, lordy. The longest I have ever planked for was 2 minutes and I thought I was seeing through time at the end. I am now up to almost a 60 second plank, although I could hold it longer now. Doing it 3 times and that last 60 second one is really hard.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 95 other followers

