• August Goals:

    100 miles on pedometer

    To Date: 24 miles


    Gym x8, Walk x4

    To Date: Gym - 2


    Drop 5 lbs

    To Date: no change

  • Shop Amazon

How Quickly Things Change

I’ll say this right now – I am not a fan of change. I wish I had one of those care-free, take things as they come type of personalities but… I don’t. So I plan and think things all the way through and then I’m OK.

Last night I was driving to class when Ben called to let me know the realtor was coming over with an offer. An offer! I was so excited I could barely concentrate through class. Every couple minutes I’d peek at the phone for a text message. The result? It’s lower than we want but it’s a cash offer and they want to close in 30 days – which means fewer mortgage payments. Ben is going to take it without countering.

And now we’re a little stunned. I had envisioned us going out to celebrate after getting an offer and jumping around (OK, well maybe just me jumping around) but surprisingly it’s harder than I think either of us thought it would be.

I have no clue how this next month will pan out. Obviously the first order of business is to see if we can get Ben on my lease temporarily so he can stay in my spare bedroom while looking for a new house. The chances of finding a new house, making an offer, and closing in time are non-existant so he’ll need interim living space.

We need to set up a storage unit, purge a lot of items, and move everything. While that all is a lot of work, it’s good work. I’m more apprehensive about the house.

It’s Ben’s first house he bought and now that he’ll be leaving it, I look at all the little projects we worked on together. I won’t be around to see my mums bloom in the Fall. Might not even see the day lillies bloom this Spring. No longer will I be able to ring Ben’s doorbell and dash off for a mile walk to our favorite breakfast place trying to beat Ben and his car.

It’s change.

It’s exciting and I think once this settles in I’ll be back to jumping up and down on the furniture. Right now, I’m trying to take it all in, plan, cross my fingers, pray, and hope everything turns out OK.

<3

2 Responses

  1. Congrats! I hope things go well for Ben and the sale on his house.
    I have a tough time with change as well. Sometimes it feels as if I can’t keep up, or the state of things are going down hill. But there’s not much that can be done about it so we have to jump on board and go along for the ride.

  2. Congrats! Now just get through the inspection and you can breathe a big sigh of relief. We had to live in temporary housing for a while and tried to make an adventure out of it LOL.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 95 other followers

